Matter of Time

As many can agree to, things tend to always work themselves out. As we pedal our way through life, events take place- some we love, and some we wish had never happened. But throughout the past year, I have learned to roll with the punches and understand that although at the time of many unwanted events, something down the road will help you understand and appreciate the struggle you were previous put through. While the experiences with my medical condition have been unfortunate and unexpected, I am not only thankful for the incredible health care I received but the lessons I have learned.
I am not perfect. I have made mistakes. I will continue to make mistakes as well. I have hurt those who stood by myside. I have made choices based on the moment rather than the future. I have been selfish. I have said things I do not mean. But through my flaws, I have learned. While I have made these mistakes, so have others. I have been hurt. I have been unappreciated. I have been put down. I have been fooled by those who desired me for the wrong reasons. But if there is one thing I take pride in, it is forgiveness. Perfection is unrealistic. Forgiving may not be easy, but it is mature and it is right. I do not expect my flaws to be dismissed- confrontation and recognition are helpful. I may be stubborn and I may not accept them initially, but I always see them as time passes. I am not afraid to apologize. Apologizing shows courage and acceptance of one’s own mistakes. I have learned to be understanding- understanding of mistakes-understanding of the past and how to help the future- understanding of what is important and that what is meant to be, will be. People are not defined by their flaws.
I have been able to relate the lessons I learned through my battle with paraganglioma to all aspects of my life- especially on a personal level. I believe that if you are unhappy with something; trust that it will work itself out. I believe that if you are hurt; forgive those willing to apologize. I believe that if you are scared; lean on those who know you best. Just like people, life is not supposed to be perfect. We go through patches of the rough to appreciate the beautiful breakthroughs. Whether you are living the beautiful or watching from afar, appreciate it. Be happy for others. Be happy for yourself. Be happy for what you have and what is to come. It will be beautiful.

Be patient; It is only a matter of time.

 

3 thoughts on “Matter of Time

  1. David says:

    The sermon today at church was about forgiveness. My pastor and you were on the same page and are exactly right.
    What you have gained through all of this is amazing Wisdom.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It helps all of us realize we can survive,we are not perfect, and that’s okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

