Baby steps

Hi guys! Finally I feel up to blogging a little bit about my experiences this past week.. As DeShone let you all know, Thursday was a long day. After around 17 hours straight on an operating table, I was taken to the Intensive Care Unit at the James Cancer Hospital to spend the night. There they managed me carefully due to all the stress and changes made to my body. I apologize if my grammar is poor or hard to understand. I am sleepy and on a good amount of drugs.

The normal complications known from my surgery are taking their toll, but each day I feel a little stronger. I was taken off my feeding tube, central line IV, and my foley catheter. It is very hard to talk and understand my speech. I tend to have difficulties chewing and swallowing but they have improved and will continue to with time and therapy.

I will need lots of therapy. Unfortunately, as well as everything went during my surgery, I woke up unable to feel and move my lower leg/ankle/foot. Luckily and surprisingly, my brain and spinal scans came back normal, showing no signs of stroke during my long and intense surgery. It may take weeks to a year to regain motion within my leg but I will be working hard each day.

I am so pleased with how everything turned out. We are still waiting on the pathology report from my tumor and lymph nodes but that should be here sometime soon.

Thank you for all the love and support. I can not begin to explain how grateful I am each day.

More updates to come.

9 thoughts on “Baby steps

  1. olga fields says:

    I have been praying for you and your mom. I don’t know her name, but I am a parent and cannot imagine what she has gone through. thank you for letting us along for your story, it has really inspired me, I have a daughter the same age as you at Saint Marys College. Be strong beautiful child!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lori Keller Denniston says:

    Elli~ I’m so sorry I didn’t get to see you after surgery. I was able to spend time though with your beautiful family. I’m so proud of your strength, courage and positive attitude. Can’t wait to see you soon. Hope you liked your angel. I loved the arms up….,you made it girl! Love you~Lori

    Like

  3. Valorie Mahas says:

    Elli you are doing great and have made great strides already in such a short period of time. Be patient and take all the time you need. You have talented physicians, a loving and supportive family and many loving friends supporting and praying for you from all over. And God as the great healer above. Miss Elli you are truly blessed. Continued hugs and prayers to you and your family ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. irish93 says:

    Hang in there! I had a tumor removed from my parietal lobe five years ago when I was 34, and woke up unable to move my right leg. Sensation and control came back–starting in the thigh and moving downward–in fits and spurts, and within a few months I was able to ditch my cane (mixed feelings about that…people in crowded places give you a wide berth when you have a cane, because no one wants to be that person who bumped into the gimpy guy) and resume walking with a limp that no one can even see anymore. Last summer I took tennis back up after almost ten years. (I’m still not very good at it, but that’s not the fault of my leg.) It will come back–just stay patient and keep working at it! (And Go Irish!)

    Like

  5. Mrs McKinley says:

    Dear Elli, DeShone & your families,

    I am so amazed by both of you & we are praying for you all at CCHS๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’šsending our prayers & hugs;) Continue to use the serentity prayer we know TD Jesus is with you keeping you Psyched Up!!!!๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ€

    Like

  6. Uncle Ed and aunt Shannon says:

    Elli so glad you doing well. Our love to you and family. Talked to grandma Thatcher yesterday, she Said you looked good, good luck today. Love you. Ed and Shannon

    Like

Leave a Reply

