Monday

Today is Monday, April 13th. This marks the first day of my surgery week. I woke up and arrived at the James Cancer Hospital at 7am. From there I was prepared for a baseline “brain spect scan” for a pre-surgery I will be having tomorrow. The preparation included receiving an IV which then injected a radioactive substance to show the activity of my brain at its current resting state.

Tomorrow is a big day. I have my “balloon occlusion test”. This is a procedure where my doctor makes a small incision in my groin and places a catheter up into the carotid artery that runs through my tumor at the base of my skull. At the end of the catheter is a small balloon. The doctor gradually inflates the balloon, blocking off the blood flow to my brain from that artery. Because the doctor needs to see my level of responsiveness as the blood flow is reduced, I’m awake for the procedure. I am having this test to know if during my big surgery, if my carotid artery is damaged, whether or not a carotid bypass is mandatory. It’s a scary thing. It all is. But it is what I have to do in order to get better.

I cannot believe that this week is here already. I am nervous.. so nervous, but beyond ready to get this surgery under my belt. Everyone is nervous. The sleepless nights are only getting worse. I see the emotional strength in not only myself, but those around me, lessening. Now we are focusing on things day by day. I never imagined feeling the way I do now. I have never been more scared. As the days pass by so quickly I know soon I will wake up living a much different life. Although there is no way to prepare for something like this, I feel as ready as I could be. I am ready to be healthy again. I am ready to live a normal college life. I am ready to start fresh.

I beat Monday.

11 thoughts on “Monday

  1. Molly O'Brien says:

    Best of luck tomorrow. I’m praying so hard that you receive good news. You’re a beautiful, strong girl… God will get you through this. ❤

    Like

  2. Mary Beth Burkeen says:

    Ellie,
    Hang on tightly to your faith, inner strength and the love, faith and strength of all those around you. You have such a strong contingent of people around you and the prayers are overwhelming Gods mailbox! You are in the hands of some of the best surgeons in the country and I have faith that your new beginning. without this tumor are right around the corner!

    Like

  3. Kelli says:

    Stay strong Elli!! We are all behind you! Soon you will be on the other side of this surgery only having to focus on healing and getting stronger. Love you sweet girl!!

    Like

  4. Courtney Bandeen says:

    Best of luck with everything! Be strong! If you need a laugh just think of the time you stole my first birthday cupcake! Love you lots!

    Like

  5. Betsy Booth says:

    Dearest Elli,
    Jake , Dillon & I are thinking of you, praying for all to go well and sending strength and love to you, your Mom & Dad and all those there with you. You have many friends like us here in Toledo sending up tons of prayers this week for you honey !

    Like

  6. Jane says:

    Ellie-

    You are a string person who can persevere through anything. You will use your strength to get through this too. You loving family will add to that bond of strength. I wish you the best and you are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

