Life Lessons

Elli:

My life has changed dramatically over the past few weeks. My greatest stress went from worrying about a general chemistry quiz to whether or not I would ever hear from my right ear again. As I have always been, I worry a lot about the people around me. I want them to be happy, even if it sacrifices my own happiness. But lately, I have learned to be a little selfish. I have been putting myself first. I have been doing what I want and hoping those around me understand. While some do, others do not. I think sometimes it takes something bad to happen to realize how important it is to do what makes you happy. What is beautiful to me is that during hard times the people that are supposed to be in your life put away the past and are there for you regardless. It truly is a time to come together and to recognize the love that surrounds one another. People make mistakes. I have made mistakes. But those who have seen my flaws and still support me in difficult times are keepers. I have yet to have a day go by without feeling beyond lucky. Although the circumstances are far from ideal, I am blessed with a beautiful family, great friends, and incredible surgeons. I am ready for whatever this obstacle brings me.

2 thoughts on “Life Lessons

  1. Marge gill says:

    You go girl! I am so proud of you and know what a great family you have that love and support you through thick and thin. You and your family are in my prayers. I would imagine this waiting and testing period is torturous. Can’t imagine. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

